The losing streak ends at six as the Knicks finally get a must win against the fourth seed Orland Magic. While the Knicks currently sit seventh in the eastern conference with eight games left in the regular season, since the trade the Knicks are 8-12 and the panic meter for fans are at an all time high. Although I do admit that going to work after a Knick’s loss and explaining what happened to my team is frustrating, but I tell my co-workers this season is a period of adjustment for this team. So as the Knicks players and coaches make their adjustments I hope to see better effort on defense and offense as we prepare to have at least a seven game series in the first round of the playoffs no matter who the Knicks play.

It will be interesting to see which Knick players step up and make big plays. I’m sure D’Antoni will shorten his rotation during the playoffs to seven maybe eight players giving his starters more playing time. With this in mind, my top Knick players off the bench have been Toney Douglas, Shawn Williams, Anthony Carter, Shelden Williams (he could start), and Bill Walker. I do not expect to see all five players in the Knicks normal rotation, but I do feel they provide the best energy off the bench.

With the Knicks’ struggles, it is obvious to see that the up tempo style of basketball that Mike Dantoni likes to play is almost nonexistence which means more half court offense and isolations for Carmelo. While I do like Chauncey Billups, his leadership, and mental toughness, I am not sure if he is the type of point guard the Knicks need for the style of basketball D’Antoni likes to play. I know Billups will step up big time during the playoffs, but as the Knicks move forward next season it will be interesting to see what the future holds for Billups and the Knicks.

Up next for the Knicks is the New Jersey Nets with a 23-50 record and on a 3 game losing streak.

IHayezontheGo!

Leave a Reply

